2019 Parade Award Winners

The Greater New Haven St. Patrick’s Day Parade Awards Committee is pleased to announce the 2019 Parade Awards Winners.

A ceremony honoring these winners will be held April 5, 2019, at the Knights of St. Patrick, in New Haven. Congratulations to all of the winners.

Grand Marshal Award
– Past Parade Queens & Honor Attendants

Parade Queen
– Taylor Besciglia

Honor Attendant
– Claire Bohan

Tom Slater Sprit of the Parade, 1st place
– Connecticut Free Masons 4th Masonic District

Tom Slater Sprit of the Parade, 2nd place
– Boy Scout Troop 608

Best Overall Unit
– New Haven Fire Department

Best Float
– West Haven Irish American Club

Best Charitable Organization
– Wallingford 350th Jubilee

Best Entertainment
– Midsummer Fantasy Renaissance Faire

Best Entertainment Vehicle
– KC101 – iHeart Radio

Best Reenactment Unit, 1st Place
– 27th. Connecticut Volunteer Regiment

Best Reenactment Unit, 2nd Place
– 8th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry, Company A, Inc

Best Youth Group
– John Paul II School Girl Scout Troop

Best Drill Team
– The Elite Drill Squad & Drum Corps

Best Middle School Band
– Nathan Hale Marching Patriots

Best Irish Dance Unit
– The Brennan-Lucey Irish Dance Academy

Best Irish Marching Unit 1st Place
– New Haven Gaelic Football & Hurling Club / Irish American Community Center

Best Irish Marching Unit 2nd Place
– Knights of Saint Patrick

Best Drum and Bugle Corps
– St. Peter’s Drum Corps, Inc.

Best Pipe Band, 1st Place
– Police Pipes & Drums of Waterbury

Best Pipe Band, 2nd place
– Fairfield County Police Pipes & Drums

Best Senior Fife and Drum Corps
– Stony Creek Fife & Drum Corps

2019 Parade Award Presentation and Dinner

The 2019 Parade Award Winners will be recognized at the Annual Awards Dinner, to be held, Friday, April 5, 2019, at the Knights of St. Patrick. The winner of the Cash Raffle will be drawn that night as well.

Parade Award Sponsorship

Sponsor an award for the 2019 Parade.  Show your support for the Parade and those that march in it, and honor a loved one at the same time.

Click here to download the Award Sponsorship form, then pay online with the PayPal button below.


Name on Award

On Sunday, March 10, Grand Marshal Courtney Lundgren Connors had the great honor of leading our parade down Chapel and Church followed by approximately 3,000 marchers. These marchers are part of competitive groups who strive to improve every year and they are judged and ranked for their performance. We honor the winning units with a plaque recognizing them at our annual Awards Night.

A long tradition on parade day has been to rename Church Street for a deceased member of our Irish Community. In 2019, the parade committee selected to honor Theresa Hinckley. On April 5, 2019, we will present her family with the commemorative signs at our annual Awards Night Presentation.

Best Junior Fife and Drum Corps
– Deep River Junior Ancient Fife & Drum Corp

Best Senior Military Unit
– New Haven Veterans – VFW

Best Junior Military Unit
– CT Minuteman and Stratford Eagles Squadrons Civil Air Patrol

Best Police Marching Unit
– Connecticut State Police

Best Police Honor Guard 1st Place
– Judicial Marshals Honor Guard

Best Police Honor Guard 2nd Place
– Bridgeport Police Honor Guard

Best Fire Honor Guard
– Middletown Fire Department Honor Guard

Best Fire Department, 1st Place
– New Haven Fire Department Local 825

Best Volunteer Fire Department
– M.P. Rice Hose Co. No. 2