Skip to content


Joanne Conlan

Joanne Conlan

2022-2023 Grand Marshal

Our 2023 Grand Marshal, Joanne Marie Conlan, was born in Milford, CT, the daughter of Robert and Donna Beckwith. Joanne is one of seven children: Cheryl, Bill, Pamela, Christine, Robbie, and Carla. She was born between Pam and Christine which puts her smack dab in the middle! Add Glenn’s siblings; Rob, Brad, and Darci as well as their spouses, plus nieces and nephews and the Conlan household is overflowing with love at every gathering.

Joanne joined the Greater New Haven St. Patrick’s Day Parade committee in 2004, the year her daughter Moriah was Parade Queen. Once Moriah was crowned, Joanne became a member of the “Queen Mum’s Club” which is one of her favorite roles!

As a member of the parade committee for the past nineteen years, Joanne has held multiple roles. She was the parade chairwoman for three years, an unprecedented event due to the spread of Covid canceling the 2020 and 2021 parades. She also held the office of Parade Secretary and Chief-of-Staff. Before becoming a Parade Officer, Joanne held a variety of roles. She was Chairwoman of the Parade Ball and Chairwoman of the Awards Committee. She was a member of the following committees: Corn Beef Dinner, “100” Club, Shamrock Open Golf Tournament, Fashion Show, Irish Ball committee, Queen’s Competition committee, and other committees too numerous to mention.

A proud member of the West Haven Irish American Club for the past twenty-six years, Joanne served as Secretary, Vice-President, and held a four-year term as club President. She is also a member of the Knights of St. Patrick, the New Haven Gaelic Football & Hurling Club/IACC, and the Irish Heritage Society of Milford. In 2011, Joanne and Glenn were honored to be named “West Haven Irish Couple of the Year”.

Joanne graduated from Southern Connecticut State University, and holds a bachelor’s degree, a master’s degree, as well as a sixth-year degree in Elementary Education. She retired from teaching in 2019 but still finds her days extremely full. She keeps busy with her cookie business, participating on various committees, as well as spending time with family and friends. One of her favorite activities is spending time around the holidays with her husband Glenn volunteering as Santa and Mrs. Claus.

Joanne has been married to her husband Glenn for forty-one years, living in the same house in West Haven that Glenn grew up in. They have two children; Glenn Jr (Nuris) and were predeceased by their daughter Moriah. They have two grandchildren: Orlando, son of Nuris and Glenn Jr., and Declan, Moriah’s son.

At the Ball, Joanne will be presented with her 2023 sash which was lovingly made by her sister Cheryl. Imprinted inside the sash is Moriah’s name and angel wings so Moriah will be close to Joanne’s heart as she leads the 2023 parade as Grand Marshal. Joanne would like to give special acknowledgment to her fellow officers, as well as every member of the parade committee for giving of their time, dedication, and passion ensuring that the parade will continue on for generations to come.

Joanne would also like to thank Past Grand Marshal Eileen Donadio (2004) and Past Grand Marshal Colleen Hines (2016) for their amazing, nonjudgmental, loving mentorship these past six years.
To Glenn from Joanne ~ You will ALWAYS be the wind beneath my wings. I love you....xo




2020-2022 Seamus Bohan
2019 Courtney Lundgren Connors
2018 Patrick J. Smith
2017 Clifford W. Lynch, Jr.
2016 Colleen A.M.B. Hines
2015 Timothy F. Gallogly
2014 Kelly Canning Ruickoldt
2013 Joseph M. Lynch
2012 Kevin A. Smith
2011 Walter J. Nester, Jr.
2010 James J. McGovern
2009 Brian G. Enright
2008 Bernadette Smyth LaFrance
2007 Mary Lyng Malenda
2006 John E. Cannon
2005 Coleman W. Walsh, Jr.
2004 Eileen Sullivan Donadio
2003 Dorinda Keenan Borer
2002 Kevin J. Smith
2001 John J. Doyle
2000 Thomas E. Gallagher



1999 Michael McCann
1998 Mary Gallagher Carter
1997 Edward O’Neill
1996 Katie O’Keefe Gerhard
1995 William F. McCabe
1994 William T. O’Brien
1993 William M. Hackett
1992 Laurence McGivney
1991 Michael Bohan
1990 Thomas F. Slater
1989 Kathleen A. Reilly
1988 Cmdr. John R. O’Connor
1987 Robert C. Shanley
1986 Patrick J. Hanlon
1985 James H. Sullivan
1984 Finbarr Moynihan
1983 Capt. Walter J. Walsh
1982 Michael V. Lynch
1981 James C. Bohan
1980 Hon. Charles D. Gill
1979 Robert J. Eagan



1978 James J. Dinnan
1977 Stephen Madigan
1976 John C. O’Donovan
1975 Edward P. McMahon
1974 Raymond J. Eagan
1973 Wiliam J. Heffernan
1972 Joseph T. Carr
1971 William T. O’Connell
1970 Col. James T. Fleming
1969 Edward A. Taylor
1968 Ray Ward, Jr.
1967 Chief Francis J. Sweeney
1966 James C. Bowe
1965 Howard J. Sullivan
1964 Chief Francis V. McManus
1963 Col. Joseph H. Fleming
1961 John M. Golden
1960 Chief Thomas J. Collins
1959 Majr Gen. James M. Quinn
1958 Hon. James S. Shanley
1957 Patrick J. Goode
1956 William J. Clancy
Hon. Mayor Richard C. Lee
Hon. William F. Gallogly
Hon William F. Gallogly Jr.


The Grand Marshal shall:

A)  Attend all meetings of the St. Patrick’s Day Parade Committee and as many standing committee meetings as possible;

B)  Lead the St. Patrick’s Day Parade;

C)  Review and sign the Parade orders;

D)  Assist the Chairperson on all matters pertaining to the Parade;

E)  Chair the General Committee meetings in the absence of the Chairperson;

F)  Meet with the present officers, along with the Executive Committee Chairperson, prior to the first General Committee meeting to explain the year’s plan;

G)  Be responsible for collecting minutes of each meeting, any correspondence, and all public relations material pertaining to the Parade. All this shall be kept in a binder during the year, and at the first executive meeting attended it shall be turned over to the Executive members;

H)  Be directly involved in all aspects of fundraising to support the parade.

Interested in joining the Greater New Haven St. Patrick’s Day Parade Committee?
Contact our Chairperson at


The Associated Irish Societies is an IRS recognized non-profit with 501(c) (3) status. All donations are tax-deductible. Donations are payable to the Associated Irish Societies.


St. Patrick's Day Parade Greater New Haven logoThe Greater New Haven St. Patrick’s Day Parade is Connecticut’s largest single day spectator event attracting more than 325,000 people to the streets New Haven each year. The Parade is a longstanding tradition in the New Haven community, and the members of the Greater New Haven St. Patrick’s Day Parade Committee volunteer to ensure the tradition continues.


P.O. Box 9078
New Haven, CT 06532

© 2022 Associated Irish Societies, Inc.