2019 Parade Queen and Honor Attendant

The annual St. Patrick’s Day Parade Queen Selection, sponsored by the New Haven Gaelic Football & Hurling Club in East Haven, was held on February 2, 2019.

Parade Queen and Honor AttendantThe 2019 Parade Queen is Taylor Besciglia. The 2019 Honor Attendant is Claire Bohan.

Taylor Besciglia, 2019 Parade Queen
Taylor is the daughter of Heidi Pierpont and Frank Besciglia Jr. She lives in West Haven and her ancestors hail from Piltown, County Kilkenny. She is currently a student at Southern Connecticut State University studying elementary education with concentrations in STEM and English, she will graduate this spring. Taylor is employed by Kumon Learning Center as a tutor, she is also a student teacher within the New Haven Public Schools. Her personal ambition is to become a successful elementary school teacher while serving as a positive role model to her students. Her interests include fitness, Gaelic football, hiking, reading mystery books, spending time at the beach, and arts and crafts. She also believes in raising mental health awareness. Taylor is a member of the West Haven Irish American Club.

Prize TableClaire Bohan, 2019 Honor Attendant
Claire is the daughter of Seamus and Dina Bohan. She lives in Orange and her ancestors hail from Mohill, County Leitrim. She is currently employed by The Clay Date and Duffy’s Irish Pub. Claire’s personal ambition is to travel the world helping underprivileged children as well as conserving and improving the environment. She aspires to become an art therapist. Her interests include fashion, creating, pottery, music, working with children and helping others. She also enjoys having meaningful conversations with family and friends, making memories and debating over her vegetarian lifestyle. Claire’s father and grandmother are members of the New Haven Gaelic Football and Hurling Club and the Knights of St. Patrick.

Their first official appearance will be at the St. Patrick’s Day Parade Ball on Saturday, March 2nd, at Anthony’s Ocean View Restaurant.  They will be featured in the 2019 St. Patrick’s Day Parade on Sunday, March 10, in New Haven, and appear throughout the year at many Irish community events.

Parade Queen Contestants
Left to right: Teresa Bohan, Claire Bohan (Honor Attendant), Taylor Besciglia (Parade Queen) and Megan Burke.

Taras and Claddaghs
2018 Parade Queen Bridget Judd and 2018 Honor Attendant Maureen Heeran with the 2019 contestants and the 2019 Taras and Claddaghs. 2019 is the 10 year anniversary for the Taras and Claddaghs.

[title size=”2″]Past Parade Queens and Honor Attendants[/title]

Year Parade Queen Honor Attendant
2018 Bridget Judd Maureen Heeran
2017 Abigail O’Keefe Catherine Dignan
2016 Kaitlyn Cullagh Caitlin Shea Clark
2015 Margaret Heeran Siobhan Dacey
2014 Alexis Wheway Morgan Hildebrandt
2013 Fiona Stewart Kate Thompson
2012 Carolyn Shea Kate Thompson
2011 Kristina Conroy Carolyn Shea
2010 Lindsey Stamp Kristina  Conroy
2009 Katie Morris Brittney Lipsett
2008 Briana Conway Laura Brayfield
2007 Erin Collins Courtney Lundgren
2006 Maura Monahan Briana Conway
2005 Melinda Enright Jillian Mackey
2004 Moriah Conlan Meghan Wilson
2003 Cathleen Steinau Siobhan Straub
2002 Caitlin Monahan Melinda Enright
2001 Sinead Stewart Caitlin Monahan
2000 Barbara Stratton Sheila Smyth
1999 Patricia Lilllis Elizabeth Murphy
1998 Catherine Hopkins Kara Roxbee
1997 Karen Freed Tracy Henderson
1996 Laura Garrity Karen Freed
1995 Karyn Gallagher Laura Garrity
1994 Bernadette Smyth Lisa Peckingham
1993 Doreen Keogh Karyn Gallagher
1992 Mary-Kathy Cullagh Karyn Gallagher
1991 Katherine McGowan Patricia O’Shea
1990 Josephine Craig Katherine McGowan
1989 Geraldine Lillis Irene Horgan
1988 Diane Graham Eileen Conway
1987 Fionnuala Mackey Mary Clarke
1986 Darcy Smith Karen Sullivan
1985 Susan O’Connor Lauren Montgomery
1984 Linda Gill Lauren Montgomery
1983 Aileen Lawless Maureen McDermott
1982 Kerry Lawless Mary Ann Gannon
1981 Valerie Spagnle Maureen O’Reilly
1980 Margo Mackey Mary Lynch
1979 Patty Roxbee Margo Mackey
1978 Claire Barrett Irene Wheeler
1977 Katie O’Keefe Eileen McNolty
1976 Rosemary Hartigan Kathie Roxbee
Year Miss Ireland Miss Irish American
1975 Jamie O’Donovan Sheila Keehan
1974 Bridie Smyth Nora O’Keefe
1973 Edna Farrell Eileen Shields
1972 Helen Kellegher Linda Beers
1971 Mary Joyce Irene Devlin
1970 Catherine Cullagh Bonnie McNolty
1969 Pam White Catherine Thompson
1968 Elizabeth Smyth Elizabeth Dalton
1967 Ruby Ashenhurst Mary Flynn
1966 Maureen Canning Rita Manning
1965 Grace Tighe Patricia Collins
1964 Marglin Reardon Margaret Farrell
1963 Patricia Foley Katherine Hanrahan
1962 Mary McArdle Eileen Sullivan
1961 Mary Foley Nancy Griswold
1960 Mary Sheehan Patricia Griffiths
1959 Mary Theresa Corry Patricia O’Connor
1958 Susan Smith Mary Manning
1957 Mary McArdle Maureen Hanrahan
1956 Mary McCarty Maureen Earl